Par : Eleve
Publié : 20 octobre 2008

"The European Parliament"

« The European Parliament »

The place of the parliament :

There are three places of work for the members of the EP : in Brussels, in the Luxemburg and in Strasbourg.

JPEG - 18.8 ko

The President of the EP :

The candidate who obtains an absolute majority of the votes cast in a secret ballot is elected President.
If an absolute majority cannot be obtained after three ballots, the President is elected on the fourth round by a simple majority.
The President’s term of office, which may be renewed, is two and a half years – half a parliamentary term.

The president of EP is Hans-Gert Pöttering.

The members :
There are 785 members in the EP, they represent Europe and they are elected every five years.
In the EP 23 languages are used.